The Even Brighter Side of Being Unemployed

Because one list just wasn’t enough, here are my further thoughts on the benefits of unemployment.

1.  I keep forgetting it’s not Saturday.

2.  I suddenly have time to work on those long-neglected things around the house (like removing/washing the window screens — now that’s a good time).

3.  Jen gets to have me around the house.  All the time.  Sure, she might have bandied around the “getting in my way” phrase a few times, but I’m sure it’s all in jest.

4.  I’ve had the chance to interview for some great positions and meet some great people.

5.  “Oh, you want to get on the computer?”

6.  Lessons learned.  Like, say, make sure the envelope you use to send along your resume doesn’t have some ancient pictures of your kids in it.  Might save yourself having to explain said pictures to a confused potential employer.  And don’t switch shampoos the morning of an interview.  In the dim light of a Starbucks bathroom, you might think you forgot to wash your hair.

7.  But seriously, this no Blackberry thing is for the birds.  What is this, 2002?  We were practically Neanderthals back then.

8.  I worked out three times this week, and today will make four.  Have to make sure my legs are strong enough to work the bread lines, you know.  Those things look brutal.

9.  Not having to shave every weekday?  Bueno.  The marathon shave session when you finally get around to losing the mountain man look?  No bueno.

10.  No work conflict to keep me from enjoying today’s Sweet Sixteen games.  Although I suppose it’s a toss-up between that and trying to watch the games in the same room as four energetic kids who are only mildly interested in basketball.  Speaking of which, if Duke doesn’t win tonight, I just might have to break out a sullen “dark side of unemployment” list.

4 thoughts on “The Even Brighter Side of Being Unemployed

  1. Rofl!! I can’t decide on my favorite this time. I had been thinking about #3 from her point of view. Again, condolences on #7.

  2. Oh yeah, I forgot to say, “See you in about 14 hours!!” Just what you need when you’re home full time–someone sleeping in your office.

  3. You’re supposed to remove and wash the window screens? Wow! I thought you just replaced them when you couldn’t see outside anymore.
    P.S. Get off the computer and go shave, neanderthal.

  4. You’re supposed to remove and wash the window screens? Wow! I thought you just replaced them when you couldn’t see outside anymore.
    P.S. Get off the computer, neanderthal… One word… “Schick”.

Leave a Reply

