Thankful

Happy belated Thanksgiving!  I think I’ve nearly recovered from the feast at my brother’s house.  Food, drink, song, togas, a fully-operational vomitorium — this feast had it all (okay, maybe only two of those).

Instead of boring you with a list of all the things I’m thankful for, I’ll offer up the lyrics to one of my favorite “thanksgiving” songs:

I am thankful that I’m incapable of doing any good on my own.

‘Cause we’re all stillborn and dead in our transgressions.  We’re shackled up to the sin we hold so dear.  So what part can I play in the work of redemption?  I can’t refuse, I cannot add a thing.

‘Cause I am just like Lazarus and I can hear your voice.  I stand and rub my eyes and walk to You because I have no choice.

I am thankful that I’m incapable of doing any good on my own.  I’m so thankful that I’m incapable of doing any good on my own.

‘Cause by grace I have been saved through faith that’s not my own.  It is a gift of God and not by works, lest anyone should boast.

Caedmon’s Call, Thankful

 

Leave a Reply

